Yummy recipes

Chicken in (or under) a Biscuit

Okay, so the other day I’m scrolling my news feed on FB and glanced over a quick video of a chicken and cornbread recipe. I watched it for a few seconds then continued on with my bored-out-of-my-mind meandering. Well, for the past few days, my what-am-I-gonna-make-tonight routine had me going back to that recipe idea. I thought about how I would make it because like a genius that I am, I didn’t pay attention to the amounts of the ingredients or the baking instructions. Just the basic ingredients. Smart, right?

But I kept thinking about how good the dish would be. So I thought, lets try it and see how it would turn out. The little bit of the video gave me enough information to get started. It turned out to be very simple with not too many ingredients.

img_0193

It all starts with some butter. A little over half a stick later and it’s melting. Get the onions and garlic in that melted butter and the good ‘ol nose is in heaven. I just love the smell of onion and garlic cooking in butter. Mm-Hmm…

Add the bag of frozen vegetables to the pan and get those little babies thawing. For the frozen vegetables, the world of the frozen food isle is you oyster. You can really put anything in there depending on what you are hankering. The classic mix of corn, carrot and green beans were calling my name for this.

Because you’re adding something frozen to a hot mixture, cover that pan up for a few minutes. That way, you get the vegetables cooking and they won’t dry out.
img_0196When you think that they are warmed up enough and are getting soft, then shake your flour over the vegetables and mix it all in. It will get thick so just make sure that the flour is completely blended in before adding the chicken stock.

Slowly, and I mean slowly, stir the stock into the pan, remembering that nobody like lumps in a sauce. Make sure that all of the flour is completely combined with the stock before adding the milk.

img_0197

 

At this point, you might be tempted to let it sit and saute a bit. I wouldn’t cook the sauce for more than a couple of minutes, it’ll get really dried out in the oven. Just let it come to a bubble and get the chicken in. Add your salt and pepper to the chicken and veggie mix and take it off of the heat.

Pourimg_0199 it all into your casserole dish. Spread it all around until you
have an even layer at the bottom of the dish. For the cornbread mix, I opted for a package of the Marie Callender’s cornbread mix. It only requires water to make and I didn’t really want to make the recipe more complicated. I like to keep things simple and nothing gets simpler than adding water to the box of cornbread mix. Pour that over the veggies and chicken and it’s ready for the oven!

All in all, it only took me about 20-30 minutes to get things mixed together and in the dish. I baked it for a total of 28 minutes just to be sure that the corn bread mix wasn’t soggy in the middle.

It came out beautifully and tasted fantastic! When I asked my daughter what she though of it, her reply was “um, I’m going for thirds!” Snarky girl, well then I’ll take that as a yes.

Buon appetito!

My Chicken in a Biscuit

Ingredients

5 Tbls butter

2 c. of cooked chicken

1 bag of frozen vegetables

1 sm. onion

2 cloves of garlic

1/3 c. flour

1 ¼ c. chicken stock

2/3 c. milk

1 box cornbread mix

Salt ‘n Pepper to taste

Instructions

Pre-heat the oven to 400° F and spray a 9×13 casserole dish with cooking spray.

Melt butter in large skillet over medium heat and add the onion and garlic, sauté until soft and tender. Add bag of frozen vegetables and cover. Cook vegetable mixture for 5-10 minutes until the frozen vegetables are warm and soft. Add the flour to the pan and stir until well combined then slowly stir in the chicken stock. Stir until fully combined and then stir in the milk. Mix well and cook for another 2-3 minutes. Add the cooked chicken to the vegetable mix and season with the salt and pepper. Remove from heat.

Follow the instructions on the box of corn bread and set aside. Pour the vegetable and chicken mixture into your prepared casserole dish. Pour the cornbread mixture over the chicken and bake for 25-30 minutes or until the cornbread is golden-brown.

Leave a Reply

