DIY Hacks

Cream de cafe

Do you ever have those times when you are at the grocery store, and you’re standing there looking at the price of coffee creamer, bread or something that you use on a daily basis and you think to yourself, “I need to learn how to make this for cheaper”?

I do..img_0184. All the time, too. I’m all about saving money on things that I use everyday. Especially if it’s something simple to make and the savings offset the time and supplies to make it. That’s the beauty of DIY and there are so many things you can create that will save you money.

Coffee creamer is just one of those things, for me at least. I use creamer everyday in my coffee when I get up, and sometimes a lot of it too depending on how work went the day before. Also, I have never had the taste for black coffee either. It is way too bitter for my taste buds. Even espresso at the local coffee joint is not for my tasting pleasure. So hats off to those that can and do.

I saw this recipe as I was scrolling through Pinterest one day, as I so often do for inspiration, and it hit me. Why not make it? Why not save money on something that I buy at least once a week and it’s not even the small bottles that I buy. Isn’t it funny how the most logical things seem to not hit the brain-wave until it’s in your face?

img_0185

So, it’s a really simple recipe.

1 14 oz. can of sweetened-condensed milk

1 3/4 c. of milk (you can also use other milk products like half ‘n half, heavy cream, etc.)

Voila, that’s it! Simple. Obviously this is the base, so if you want different flavors for your creamer there are things you can add. I love having different flavors for my creamer. I love the coconut flavors, hazelnut flavors, etc. When I made this batch, I went a little daring with an attempt for a peppermint-patty. I say daring because peppermint extract is super strong. I tend to use things I have on hand and peppermint extract is one of those things for cake making.

To make the peppermint-patty, you would add 2 tablespoons of chocolate syrup and about 1/2 a teaspoon of peppermint extract.  Go super frugal, and I mean very sparing on the flavored extracts. A tiny bit goes a very long way and I have made the mistake of following another recipe that called for 1 full teaspoon of the peppermint extract and it was way too powerful. Once you add too much extract, you can’t take it away or cover it up. I couldn’t even get a hint of the chocolate syrup. Start with half of what the recipe calls for and taste it before adding more flavored extract.

img_0190Nowadays, you can buy extracts for most flavors that you could use. For French Vanilla, you would add vanilla extract. Remembering to start with small amounts of the extract and add bit by bit, until the level of flavor you are looking for is achieved. I say it again because you don’t want to have to waste your ingredients if it gets ruined. If that happens, you won’t be saving any money in the end.

The next batch of creamer that I am going to make is going to be a chocolate almond flavor. That will require Cocoa powder and almond extract. Mmmm, I’m getting excited already. Oh, the possibilities with this little gem of a recipe!img_0191

Because I had all these ingredients on hand, I saved a lot of money. 100%, in fact. For the amount of creamer I made, I got about one and a half quarts after doubling the recipe. That’s saving me about $6.00 I would have spent on two of the 1 quart bottles of creamer, and that’s not even comparing it to the expensive brand of creamer. Cha-ching! And if you use only little bit of cream in your coffee, you save even more money because it will last you longer. That’s the main point to making it yourself, after all.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

